My bike is still in the shop, soooo…… (new bike build time)

It doesn’t have to make sense.  What it does make is me not so angry about work.  Not sure why that is.  Don’t care.  I’m building a new bike.

SHA-ZAM!

So…

Well I’ve got a serious All Mountain full suspension.  2013 Kona process. I could list parts spec but whatever.  I got it down to 29lbs as a 1×10.  It’s fast, and fun:

Cyril and I on Scott’s Flat in Nevada City

After about 150 miles on the bike and 250 on the X-Fusion Slant I’m loving them both.  Too bad it’s been in the shop for over a week with the RockShox Monarch + HV RCT3 in dire need of service.  But let’s face it – a raked out bike with a a long wheelbase, while pretty decent at peddling, isn’t the most svelt for plowing around in my awkward XC fashion.

I’m also poor.  A Wildlife Ecologist.  And I really don’t know that I’ll ever see it as “ok” to spend $5k+ on a bike.  I just can’t.  So, hardtail.  I’ve also had 3 back surgeries.  So gotta be steel yo.  I’ve looked through a list of bikes (frames only):

I scoured geometries, made tables to compare numbers among these and against the Trek Remedy and the Kona Process since I can’t test ride any of these locally (sad) and returning frames is a pain.  I almost pulled the trigger on the Ragley Blue Pig (super badass bike) but could not find it in a large.  Same with the NS Eccentric. In the end I decided to go with the On One 45650B.  I’ve had two On One’s before:

For the life of me I can’t find a picture of the Summer Season complete.  But it was FUN.  Great company, great bikes.

Considering the market shift I chose to go with the 650B version.  I can run it super slack and low with 26″ wheels, or build up 650B parts and be able to swap out and/or upgrade later.

So the frame, headset, and 2014 150mm Revelation are on the way.  I picked up the Frame straight from Planet-X-USA.com (the US arm of On One), and I’ve turned to a great guy Ethan at DirtMerchantBicycles for the fork and headset.  Ethan has helped me out before and does a great job hunting down and hookin up good deals!

I’ll update when I get some progress rolling.  If you have suggestions for wheels, I’d love to hear them.  Or if you have thoughts on hardcore hardtails:

PinkBike Hardcore hardtail thread.

About RCS

An interested, often crass fellow. Likely found on a bike or wandering in a seemingly aimless fashion in the woods. Use caution when approaching, as the subject is known to be oblivious, and at times obnoxious.
This entry was posted in Mountain Bikes, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My bike is still in the shop, soooo…… (new bike build time)

  1. Quan says:

    I’ve always wanted to build my own bike – but have hesitated for some of the reasons you mentioned above. Post more about your build out… I can live vicariously!

    Like

  2. RCS says:

    You got it! Frame gets here tomorrow, parts start showing up Friday and into next week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

