Forced-March Life / Far From Fields

It’s been almost a month and a half.  Rob, you suck at blogging.  *sigh*

What’s new?

  • Got a job as a mechanic at what I consider the best local bike shop around.  Trek/Santa Cruz/Intense dealer.  Same place that built the rims for Darth Goat.
  • Two of my Bosses, my colleague, my in-laws, two new interns, a good friend, and a new employee all spent varying amounts of time at our tiny house, plus the travel required by the in-laws during their visits.  Not complaining, but worn the hell out.
  • The wildlife projects I manage fell into financial crisis due to previous management practices and I spend most of my time working to correct these issues.  Meaning panhandling for the funds necessary to do a good job.
  • We still haven’t bottled our cider or started our several batches of differently-flavored mead.  Soon, I hope.  Otherwise it’ll have to wait till I return from Krakow.
  • For a later post – sold the Kona and am building a Santa Cruz Bronson.  Had to take advantage of the shop offerings yo.
2014 Alloy Bronson

2014 Alloy Bronson

I leave tomorrow evening for a 7 day, 90 mile hike through the Klamath region along the CA/OR border with my good friend and tattoo-guy, owner of Universal Rites in Ashland, OR.  Feels like time for a cleansing, and what better place to do this than my original west-coast home and MS study site?  We’ll be traveling from the Red Buttes Wilderness east along the southern border of the Applegate, then along the Pacific Crest Trail and into Ashland.  I’m taking another old friend, a book I found in a small shop in Windhoek, Namibia in 2006 when I traveled there as an undergrad, seems the book has a small following, and is an immensley powerful travel piece from a time both the same and starkly different from ours:

http://www.the-sheltering-desert.com/index.htm

I expect to listen to a fair bit of Pelican along the way, and since I’m short on other media, I’ll leave you with my favorite song of all time – “Far From Fields”

About RCS

An interested, often crass fellow. Likely found on a bike or wandering in a seemingly aimless fashion in the woods. Use caution when approaching, as the subject is known to be oblivious, and at times obnoxious.
This entry was posted in Mountain Bikes, Musing, Trails, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

